Mission statements

The highly observant amongst you may have noticed a small tweak to the header at the top of the page.

Over the past weeks, I have been doing a lot of hard work on personal stuff like aesthetic preferences.  This has been an interesting voyage of self-discovery which has by no means come to an end.  After all, I’m not dead yet!  I will be writing more about how this affects my dance/life another time.

This has lead to a few significant realisations and subsequent adjustments to my life planning.  One of these has been the appearance of a sort of ‘mission statement’ for my dance related activities.  I can’t say I worked specifically on this, but it did pop up when I was looking for a descriptive phrase to describe my approach:

Opulence in motion

Now I’d be the first to admit that this is still at the aspirational phase!   However, I take heart in the thought that this is something I can consciously seek to embody in my dance.  Having uncovered this phrase, I’m now looking to things like my costume choices and even my movement vocabulary to see how I can dance this idea to my fullest ability – feedback on how I’m doing would be most welcome, please 🙂

I am a newcomer to this whole focus phrase/mission statement business, and I will be interested to see how it affects me and my dance over time.  I’m hoping that it will be a help!  I have already noticed a few subtles changes: I’m watching more Golden Age and Oriental dance on YouTube, and my costuming choices are getting richer and more detailed (sumptuousness is a good thing – right?!).

So, here’s a question: do you have a ‘mission statement’ for your dance?  If you do, how does it help you?  And can it be a hindrance, too?

* * *

Coming soon (yes, really!): my review of Tanya Bamford-King‘s “Dancing the Drum” workshop in Wellington

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NadiraJamal
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 05:54:56

    I haven’t formulated a mission statement, but it would be something along the lines of “share the love”:
    – make the audience glad they came (IMHO, that is the dancer’s primary job)
    – share what YOU love about the dance, the music, etc. with them (i.e., be true to yourself and your style)

    My experience in other contexts is that a mission statement is never a hindrance if you keep it in perspective. It’s a tool for conscious decision-making, not a law. It’s perfectly okay to say “this doesn’t mesh with my mission statement, but I’m going to spend my time and energy on it anyway because…”

    Reply

  2. mascnz
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 16:32:47

    I like the idea of a mission statement. When I was picking my dance name, I found Nasmat, which means ‘a breath of life’. As such, I try to add something new and refreshing to each dance.
    I’m looking forward to reading about your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

