Exciting times

I’m excited.

Tomorrow is hafla night for my dance club.

We have two other troupes coming as well as some solo spots (and hopefully some musicians!)

I’m going to spend from 4 pm tomorrow turning the kindergarten we meet at into an ‘exotic locale’ worthy of hosting lovely dancers (it ain’t completely easy, but my sari collection helps).

This week I have taught two classes and run a dress rehearsal for the club, and done my own practice (I’d like to say “of course”, but that wouldn’t be quite accurate…).

A small voice inside keeps trying to say that I should be all danced out by now, with nothing left for tomorrow night.

But…

it’s wrong

I’m finding it hard to believe how much energy I have at the end of this busy week (there was busy times at work and whiny angsty kids at home as well) and I’m putting it all down to my dancing.

I do feel a bit tired, but there’s a solid core of energy left in me – which I find very exciting.  It’s certainly not something I’m accustomed to.  It is something I’d like to get used to.  And I have noticed it starting to flow though into other things (like being able to cope with those whiny kids).

I am delighted that the small voice is so wrong.

It gives me confidence that I have made good choices in letting my passion for belly dance take over my life.

It gives me hope that I can keep on doing this for a loooong time.

It gives me courage to dig deeper and enrich my dance.

I cannot recall ever feeling so happy or so much myself.

It’s cool.

I love it!

And…

…I am going to keep on dancing 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NadiraJamal
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 04:10:11

    I know the feeling! I’ve been consistently working 35-45 hours a week on my dance business since July (plus my day job), and I’m amazed that I haven’t crashed yet. When you are passionate about a project, you create new reserves of energy.

    You still have to take care of yourself, get enough rest, and take a full break or vacation from time to time. But when you’re living your passion, you don’t need as much downtime to recover from your day.

    Reply

  2. verdant1
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 08:31:19

    I must confess, I have crashed a bit since then, but I think a large part of that was the sudden lack of dance activities in my calendar (the cramps didn’t help, either…). It is nice to hear I’m not the only one – your comment is very encouraging.
    Living your passion = good!
    Silencing the inner saboteur = also good…

    Reply

  3. Trackback: A quick round-up of the last few months – oops! « verdant dance

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

