A quick round-up of the last few months – oops!

Sorry, folks.  I didn’t mean to let so much time pass without posting…

Here’s what’s been happening in my dance world since I last posted:

The Supper Club hafla back in November was a success (some photos are here).  I was proud of my dancers – one performed her first solo, another her first taqsim as an intro to our group dance (which also went well).  I was super-pleased with my own solo – definitely a case of hard work (both physical and emotional) paying off.  And, as a bonus, no one seemed to notice that I nearly lost my balance during my dramatic entrance!

The Supper Club is back in action again for 2012.  My community education night class starts next week.  Life is getting back to normal!

As for me – I’m preparing to head to my first MEDANZ festival in April.  My flights and accommodation are sorted (yay!), now I just need to book for the workshops – oh, and improve my fitness, stamina and general dancing enough to cope with 6 hour dance days!  I’m very excited about going 🙂

I’m also continuing to work on my broader Middle Eastern music and dance knowledge: several of the workshops I want to take at the Festival are about aspects of folkloric dance or music.  For Christmas, I bought myself this album (I ❤ iTunes vouchers!), which I’m hoping will help me  understand more about the melodies of Arabic music.  I also have good intentions of  improving my knowledge of different rhythms. And, of course, my Amazon cart is filling up with tempting delicacies – some of which may actually get bought this year! (Suggestions for inclusion most welcome!)

As always, I’m endeavouring to lift my dancing game and my teaching game up another notch or six.  To do this I’m always looking for new resources – so, a couple of questions:

  • What are your favourite, or most useful, resources?
  • What helps inspire and encourage you to stretch your dancing or teaching a little further?

Any answers and reviews welcome – just add to the Comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers

